Louisa County Board of Supervisors Selects Chair and Co-Chair

By. John Haksch, Field Officer

The Bylaws of the The Louisa County Board of Supervisors require that a member may sit as chairman for no more than two clip_image002consecutive terms. Since former chairman Willie L. Gentry had served in that position for two years, it was incumbent upon the board to select another of their members to assume the duties of Chairman.

clip_image004Therefore, the board meeting was called to order by the County Administrator, Robert Dubé, who opened the floor to nominations. Dan Byers (Jackson District) and Willie L. Harper (Mineral District) were nominated, but Mr. Byers declined in favor of Mr. Harper.

clip_image006The supervisors unanimously elected Willie L. Harper as Chairman of the Board of Supervisors for the 2012 session. Richard Havasy (Green Springs District) was the sole nominee for the position of Vice Chairman, and hclip_image008e was elected by acclamation.

Mr. Troy Wade (Louisa District), a local businessman and the only freshman member of the board replaced long-time supervisor P. T. Spencer.


John Haksch is the Louisa County Field Officer for the Free Enterprise Forum a privately funded public policy organization.

The Free Enterprise Forum Field Officer program is funded by a generous grant from the Charlottesville Area Association of REALTORS® (CAAR) and by readers like you.  To support our work please donate online at www.freeenterpriseforum.org


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: